Bolivia pt. III

From August 10, 2011

 

So I believe I left off with Saturday night…

Well, the morning of the 17th (Sunday) we woke up and did our devotionals before church.

I don’t know if I mentioned this in my last post but church in Bolivia lasts quite some time. We stayed for maybe 2.5 or 3 hours. And Bolivians have crazy staying power when it comes to standing!

There were so many times when my legs were killing me and I just wanted to sit but everyone else was standing. I give them props. I think one of my favorite parts of church was when everyone was introducing themselves to everyone else. We do that at Radiant Life each morning, talk to both old and new people. It was really cool to meet so many people and have so many people want to meet us.

I’m really thankful I speak Spanish because that way I could understand the service. I also taught a couple people the phrase “Que Dios te bendiga.” (God bless you) because it’s pretty useful as a general greeting/departure-saying-thing. Or at least I think it is.

After church we went to Globos for icecream. I’m not kidding when I say we NEED one of those in the United States. It was DELICIOUS. I sampled at least 3958395813 flavors but ended up getting maracuya (passion fruit) with rainbow sprinkles on it. Rainbow sprinkles always make icecream better.

A lot of the boys got some kind with gummy bears in it or some chocolatey snickers thing. Those were both good but I think mine was the best ever, personally.

We made the journey back to the BLC from church where we ate lunch. All of the food that I had in Bolivia was sooooo delicious. I can’t get over it. I want silpancho so bad right now. Moving on…haha

Once we finished lunch we headed into Quillacollo to make phone calls. I got to talk to my mom, dad, my sister, and my two hermanas Dalia and Ally. I also managed to get on Facebook for a little bit to send messages to another member of mi otra familia Arturo (AT), and my friends Calli and Briana.

Apparently while I was contacting the northern hemisphere there was a fight that some of the team got to witness. From what I hear it was pretty girly (between two Bolivian guys) and they were surprised there was no hair pulling going on haha.

That night after dinner we got to do a Bolivian Horse Race. If you ever want to experience one of these you have to come to Bolivia, it’s the rule. It’s awesome though and Morgan has a PhD in Bolivian Horse Racing. 🙂

After our wonderful horse race we headed to the intermedios dorm where I read books with Ever. He got excited because my hoodie said “surf forever.” but “FOR” and “EVER” are on different lines so he was like “My name!! Your hoodie has my name on it!!” It was really sweet. Then the boys attacked all of us and pinned us down as they tickled us. That was my Sunday in Bolivia. 🙂

I’m telling you guys that you really need to come to Bolivia to truly understand the experience.

I’ll continue with the rest of the story manana.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

