Running

From August 25, 2011

 

Today I am straying a bit from my usual topic because I want to share something else with those who read my blog.

I was inspired to write this entry by Julie who writes “Japple a Day” at japplefitness.blogspot.com. She’s a personal trainer so you should definitely go there and check out some fitness and health tips!

So what I was inspired to write about is my work out routine because it is rather important.

Since I’ve gone back to school I’m going to try out some new yoga and Zumba classes hoping that I find some instructors who I like. I would highly recommend fitness classes that you enjoy because last year Zumba was literally the highlight of my Thursdays. People think that sounds lame but I consider looking forward to a work out that much to be awesome.

I’d also like to add that sometimes it’s important to do things you’re not a huge fan of (or at least to me it is.) I hate running. Or at least I thought I did. It’s not that my legs can’t handle it, I just seem to have the worst lungs EVER. I don’t smoke and I was on swim team so I don’t know why my lungs can’t handle running.

Before I began to run I could literally run for 60 seconds and then I’d have to stop. Then I could do a quarter of a mile which is about 2 minutes and 30 seconds for me. My friend Ally came to me after she started running and I decided to start with her. The first day I ran .75 miles, walked .25, then ran the last .25. After that I was determined to run 1 mile without stopping.

I’ve built up to 1.5 miles now which I know is not marathon quality but for me it is a lot. I can do Zumba and Cardio & Pump for an hour straight but something about running is just harder for me.

I like to run though because I’ve noticed that I can go a little bit further each time even if just by a few yards. It’s fun to push myself and then succeed in something I could have never done before. This is why I like to run even though I thought I hated it…if that makes sense.

So while I’m not a fitness expert this is just how I keep active.

I run, do yoga, do Zumba, and I do strength training. I slack off on my legs a bit because I have to walk about half a mile to get anywhere on campus and it’s usually uphill and our dorm room is on the 4th floor so I get quite a few stairs and hills in daily…but I should probably do a little more with my legs just to target more areas. I like to cover everything though – my arms, back, and stomach.

I feel like a lot of women just focus on their stomachs (or at least that’s my unprofessional opinion based on what I’ve observed at the gym) but I think it’s definitely important to work out your entire body!

It doesn’t matter if you’re naturally thin or if you need to lose weight. Working out is key for maintaining your health!! For me it’s easiest to get up in the morning and work out before class (or immediately after class on Thursday since I get out so early) because then it’s out of the way for me. I also feel so much better after working out even though it’s nearly impossible for me to get up.

I think it’s really about finding what works best for you. Also having a super awesome playlist helps.

I would personally recommend “All I Do is Win” – DJ Khaled, “Till I Collapse” and “Lose Yourself” – Eminem, “Fighter” – Christina Aguilera, anything by Pitbull, “Egoista” by Belinda, “Danza Kuduro” by Don Omar, “Gasolina (DJ Buddha Remix)” – Daddy Yankee, “No Hands” by Waka Flocka Flame and I’m sure there’s more if anyone asked but that’s what I can think of off the top of my head. 🙂

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

