the confusion of studying abroad.

So if you’ve been following my blog you might be getting the idea that study abroad is a confusing process.

Well, not to say it is always like this but to me it’s definitely confusing.

Basically this is the issue right now:

UNC-EP told me I’d register for classes and take my Spanish placement exam in January, upon arrival to the school. (I know I’ve already said this but shh there’s a point.)

Tec de Monterrey’s calendar said registration/exam stuff is in December.

La realidad: The Spanish placement exam must be taken by October 24th. I must sign up for the classes I want to register for by November 18th.

El Problema: Because I apply to Tec de Monterrey through UNC-EP, they haven’t even received my application yet, much less accepted me.

My solution: I have been e-mailing the people at Tec and UNC-EP excessively. I feel bad…but I also feel like we all need to be on the same page.

The cool thing: If I place into advanced Spanish (please pray that I do because seriously…how long have I been learning Spanish for? Eight years? Yeah. Exactly.) that means that I can register for classes that Mexican students take. AKA not English classes. AKA not international classes.

The cooler thing: A lot of the classes (if I’m correct) say stuff like “Dia: LU, JU”  which to me is code for “Class is on Mondays and Thursdays.” Which to me says Fridays off? I hope? Yes please. Hopefully I’m right in thinking that. Because that would mean I could travel around more and absorb la cultura. However, it appears to me that all of the classes I want to take are “17/3” “LU, JU” which would be from 5 to 6:30 pm on Mondays and Thursdays. They also have classes at 7 am! Is that not the craziest thing you’ve ever heard of?

Anyways, I must go back to mastering all of Spanish literature for my test tomorrow. Sorry that I’m kind of at a lull with my study abroad stuff now but hopefully I’ll get some information and get the ball rolling on the classes I want to take.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

