study abroad process – how I feel about thee.

Disclaimer: I am SO excited to spend a semester in Mexico.

However, I strongly dislike the process I’m going through.

You know the lovely group of people who told me to not take my Spanish placement exam by the deadline? (The one that I took anyway because the host school told me it was required…and it’s you know, well, their exam.)

They told me I had to send a money order to reserve a host family. I just got an e-mail today from a lady at Tec telling me they don’t take money orders and I have to do a bank transfer (BLECK processing fee) or send a check (bleck sketchy postal service between here and Mexico.)
Anyways, so now our money order is floating around Mexico which is as good as cash. I’ve got to pick that up when I get there…and now we’re going to do a bank transfer (luckily it’s within the US otherwise the processing fee would be around $50).

All I’m saying is study abroad is not for the faint of heart.

Be prepared for people to misguide you and for a crap ton of mistakes to happen along the way.

Don’t let this discourage you though. I’m counting down the days until I get to go; I just wish there wasn’t so much miscommunication involved.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

