48 hours

I have 2 full days left in the US, hence the whole “48 hours” title. If you wanna get specific though, I have about 57 hours left due to the time my flight leaves.

And all I can feel is complete disbelief. Because I REALLY don’t feel like it’s happening.

I spent the day opening presents (of course), stuffing my face with desserts (we don’t do a big dinner on Christmas, that would be us at Carrabba’s on Christmas Eve), playing Sudoku with my dad on my iPad (courtesy of my gma), and watching “Elf” with my family.

Sometimes I’d look over at one of them and think “Wow, this is one of the last times I’ll get to just casually hang out with them until May.”

But I don’t really believe myself, if you know what I mean.

I KNOW I’m leaving, but I don’t feel it at all. Even when I leave for school, I’m only two and a half hours away. I’ve been to Bolivia, Mexico, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary without my family. I’ve gone one month without seeing them. However, I’ve never been that far away knowing I won’t see them for five months.

People who go to out of state colleges are probably laughing at me right now. My roommate from last year didn’t even go home for Thanksgiving so up until a week ago, the last time she saw her family was August.

I’m a very independent person, but I also really love my family. I don’t get home sick when I’m close (aka at school) or even when I’m far (but knowing I’ll be back soon) but now…it’s just weird to think I don’t get to say “see you in a week” or “I’m coming home this weekend.” I mean I could go home for a weekend but that’d cost me quiet a bit of money.

I never cry when I say goodbye and I’m leaving in a car but I ALWAYS at least tear up when I go through airport security and see my parents standing there. I know it’s probably lame but I can’t help it. I’m going to miss my family a lot. I can’t get over how excited I am for this adventure but I can’t comprehend that I’m going to basically say adios to the English language and be completely immersed in a foreign country alone.

Merry Christmas to everybody and Happy Birthday to my wonderful dad. 🙂

Luke 2:9-12

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

