Teotihuacan and burning in a literary hell.

I realized it’s hard to blog in here when I feel like there’s nothing blog-worthy to discuss. But I’ll try and keep you guys up to date on my life in Mexico.

You know how I was in a literature course?  . The first day of class (which was the second for me because I wasn’t enrolled on the first day) there was already a pop quiz. Then our syllabus had us reading one book a week in Spanish. ONE BOOK A WEEK. IN SPANISH. I had to read half of a book by my next class. I went in and there was a pop quiz. Despite having read what I was supposed to, I had NO idea what was going on. I literally wanted to cry. The date to change classes had passed (it’s very strict here) but I e-mailed the lady in charge of international stuff and pretty much said “If I don’t switch out of this class I will fail please let me change.”

Luckily, she let me switch. Now I’m in Fonetica y Fonologia de Espanol.  Even though I won’t get credit at UNC, it’s so worth it to me because it’s improving my accent and it’s doable.  There was no way I could realistically read a book a week in Spanish, remember it, comprehend it, analyze the symbolism, AND enjoy my study abroad experience. This is why I think sometimes quitting is better than torturing yourself. Just saying.

In the past week I’ve just been kind of hanging out and getting into the school routine. School here is a lot of powerpoints and group work. I really don’t like group work because you never know who is actually going to follow through. Group work for my seminar on international relations is good though because it’s a little more intense, especially because it’s a class for 8th semester students.

I’ve been trying to split my time between my international friends and between Mexican friends because obviously I need to practice my Spanish but also I don’t want to stop talking to my international friends. I think the balance is going pretty well but I still need to speak Spanish way more. I’m just honestly tired of people saying “Wow, your Spanish is so good but your accent is so strong.” Because they can’t let it go. And half the time it’s from international students. Some of them who have worse accents than me. And I know I shouldn’t let it get to me but after a while it just makes me not want to speak Spanish anymore. People don’t seem to understand that if you live your entire life in the US that your accent will probably be pretty American. I’ve spent 9 years learning Spanish so I think my fluency is more important than my accent. Furthermore, I do try and pronounce everything the way it’s supposed to be pronounced. But my accent will still be there.  Everyone who speaks English as a second language should take a moment to record themselves speaking English before they say anything to me. Okay rant over. I like knowing Spanish.

Yesterday a lot of the international students went to Teotihuacan.  Here is more info on Teotihuacan.  I think the trip itself was a little bit overrated, but that could be because it was 4 hours long and that’s too much for me. I liked going to the sun pyramid. Knowing about the human sacrifice was cool. But there was so little left in the vast majority of the place that it was hard for me to imagine what life there was like.

I’ll post up some photos soon. 🙂

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

