Living in a country plagued by violence

Am I really though?

According to the BBC 47,515 people have been killed in drug-related violence in Mexico since Felipe Calderon took office and launched his war on narcotrafficking. (Is that a word? My computer says it isn’t.)

In my humble opinion, the numbers certainly are scary but the US is completely ridiculous in their reports on the way it is here. My friends think that I can’t even walk down the street during the day without getting shot at. Some people think living here is like being in the trenches. Lots of barren land…just waiting for someone to pop out and shoot you.

It’s not like that.  The entire country is not a war zone.

The violence is very much in the north currently. The border states. Baja California, Sonora, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, and Tamaulipas. There is, of course, violence in Veracruz and Acapulco but it is still relatively safe to be in resort areas.

In 2011 there were 111 Americans killed in Mexico. I can’t remember where I read this because I was reading tons of articles, but apparently the murders were concentrated heavily in two states.

I admit that it’s scary to see the police riding in the back of trucks with huge rifles ready to go. The picture below that I got from Google shows exactly what I see on occasion, more so when I’m traveling or when I was in el DF (Mexico City).

La Policia Federal...not comforting to see this.

But honestly, the US has hyped up the danger here so much. Almost HALF of the states in Mexico are on the Travel Warning list. It’s terrifying to read. And then you get here…and it’s not like that. Granted, I live in one of the safest states in all of Mexico…but I’ve traveled around.

I would never in a million years go to Ciudad Juarez but if you want to travel to Mexico, come!  Again, it is not a complete war zone. For example, in the US if there were mass murders in New York would that stop you from going to California? No.

People tend to think of Mexico as a whole. But it’s got 31 states and it’s not as big as the US but it’s quite a large country.

I love where I live. I don’t feel like I’m in danger. It’s full of culture and life and stuff to do.  The drug war here is very scary but it’s not taken over the whole country. Mexico is stronger than most people give it credit for.

If you speak Spanish though please take the time to watch this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jjwijvk0xOI
It’s a great effort to help stop all of the violence that has occurred.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

