Moody Mexican Men and Manzanillo.

Part of the title really has nothing to do with the post, it’s just that the day I left for Manzanillo I passed about 5 guys on the way to school who were looking rather gloomy and I thought of that alliteration in my head.

From March 16th – 19th I had a nice 4 day weekend so I set out with Kathrin and Carolin to Manzanillo, Colima at 7:30 pm Thursday (the 15th) night.

We had an eleven hour bus ride ahead of us.

At the bus station. Please note only the pink and white bag is mine. I don't understand the need for a roller board for a 4 day beach trip. Bikini, shorts, tank top, sunscreen. All you need!

Before boarding the bus, they thoroughly went through everything we took on the bus. Then they scanned us. And then patted us down as we stared into a video camera. And then they took recordings of all of our faces once on the bus. I’ll fast forward through the boring bus ride and just say that we arrive to Manzanillo after schedule at 6:00 am!

Kathrin, Carolin, and I went and checked into our hotel and slept for a bit. I got up at 9:30 but they just kept sleeping. Even though they said they’d get up at 9:30 am. I don’t know how you guys are but if I go to the beach it’s to be ON THE BEACH not in the hotel.  Since they were being boring I walked to Soriana to buy breakfast items and came back before heading down to the beach.

I’m not going to lie, the waves were WAY too rough to swim in. Seriously. So I mostly just worked on getting tan. Of course I burned because apparently I did not cover every part of me with sunscreen and this was my first real sun exposure since July and the sun in Mexico is quite strong.

 

Our other friends, Nathan, Allen, Mereki, and Brett had also come to Manzanillo but in car. They slept until probably 2:30 that afternoon and checked into a different hotel than us. That Friday night we went out to dinner with them at this place that way overcharged for below-average tacos. I don’t understand why people would rather eat in a restaurant that charges 305305382 dollars than a taco stand! But whatevs. That night we went to their hotel and just kind of hung out by the pool before heading back to our hotel.

Saturday was quite frustrating, to be honest. We were told by our friends that they’d come by our hotel on the way to breakfast. Instead of doing this, they went and called us after they’d been there for 30 minutes. They said it was a 15 minute walk from our hotel so we set out but walked for 45 minutes without finding anything. Finally we called and they were like “Oh yeah, we’re leaving. Service is too slow.” So we thought we’d all be going out together but it turns out they just went ahead and ate. Stuff like that frustrates me to NO end. I mean why invite us in the first place?

We spent all of Saturday lounging by the pool and soaking up the sun. Then our friends decided they’d rather go to the beach near Puerto Vallarta and left that night. Which I thought sucked because Sunday was Kathrin’s birthday. But regardless Carolin, Kathrin, and I all went out to a club in Manzanillo to celebrate her birthday.

Me and Kathrin at Vog Club in Manzanillo.

I apparently have the energy of the Energizer Bunny because I could have danced all night. But even though I love Carolin and Kathrin dearly, I have learned they like to sleep more than I can understand. They sleep later than me, take naps during the day, and then one before going out. I can’t process it. But to each their own. So we left around 3 am, not by my choice.

Also, it’s important to note that in between the hotel and club there were tons of people just partying in the streets. Everyone pulled up their cars into this vacant lot and were pumping music and drinking out of their little red solo cups. For HOURS. The next morning the whole place was trashed.

Sunday was again spent by the pool. Kathrin and I attempted to go out and find jet skis. At my request, of course. Because apparently I’m “hyperactive.” And yes I’m aware everyone can read this so there’s no worries there. Kathrin knows I don’t think I’m hyperactive just because I like to do things. Finding jet skis was a total failure but we did find an awesome beach where you can swim so we decided to go back there the next day.

Sunday night we attempted to go to el Centro but didn’t get off at the right bus stop. Upon deciding we were hungry and wanting to head back, we went on a bus and ended up in the middle of sketchy-ass nowhere Manzanillo. So we sucked it up and hailed a cab.

I think Monday was probably the best day cos we went to a beach where we could actually swim. I ate mango con chile y limon off of a stick that they were selling on the beach and we did banana boating. Although the banana boating was super lame, I could have pulled the boat faster if I had been swimming.

That basically sums up my weekend in Manzanillo! I would have more photos but they’re on Kathrin’s camera. D:

Oh and I tried ceviche for the first time.

It’s funny because people say “Don’t eat the food off the streets in Mexico!” and then I go and eat raw fish off the streets in Mexico. muahaha. 🙂

Stay tuned for my story about Mexico City! I just went back there this past weekend. 🙂

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

