Spring Break part trois – Chiapas

POR FIN! I can finish telling you guys about Spring Break…you know it was only a month ago.

I’ll have you guys know that any time we traveled in between locations, it was overnight on a bus. Most people think I’m insane but I have been traveling through Mexico by bus at night and it’s the most convenient method of travel for poor college students like me because we don’t have to pay for hostels nor do we have to pay for plane tickets.

Leaving Puerto Escondido we hopped on a bus for 10ish hours to Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas. Chiapas is the southern-most state of Mexico that borders with Guatemala. 

When we arrived to Tuxtla I swear I have never been so exhausted in my whole life.

We immediately went to the Canyon de Sumidero (lol at my Spanglish) which is pretty big. Yeah. Good description. We took a boat tour out of Chiapa de Corzo. I was honestly too exhausted to actually thing about THINGS, haha. I literally fell asleep a couple of times on the way back to the dock. But we got to see the canyon and crocodiles and the cave of colors which was cool.

Image

Image

Immediately after the canyon we headed out to San Cristobal de las Casas. We had to take a bus back to Tuxtla then cross the highway and wait for another bus that goes to San Cristobal. Well, every bus that passed us was completely full. So we’re all stranded on the side of the highway with all of our bags like some movie that ends up with us getting lost in the desert.

This family is like “Oh we’re going to rent a van, wanna come with us?” and they had kids so they weren’t serial killers, but I never actually said yes. However, Helene and Lucile did. So when an empty-ish bus pulls up I was like “PEACE!” and got on with Marion and Mary Claire. Everyone was a bit grumpy from waiting on the side of the road and we got into a tiff over “but it’s not fair to the family if we don’t split the cost of the van with them.” As far as I was concerned, I never agreed to get in a van with a family. I also never agreed to split a cost. I also know that in Mexico, being late is stylish so who knew when the guy would get back. 

So anyways, Marion, Mary Claire, and I ended up in San Cristobal de las Casas about 45 minutes later and checked into our hostel. 

The best part about San Cristobal was the food. Honestly. INCREDIBLE Italian food. Is that weird? One night we ate pizza, bruchette, and sangria. So amazing. The next night we ate pasta and sangria. I love sangria. It’s my favorite alcoholic drink, I believe.

One of the days in San Cristobal Mary Claire, Marion, and I split off from Helene and Lucile to do different tours. We visited two indigenous villages San Juan Chamula (who have literally sold their souls to tourism) and a village (named or in? Idk) Zinacantan.

Image
I don’t normally like to take pictures of cemeteries but this was in San Juan Chamula. 

 Image
Making tortillas in the second village. Image 

Later that evening we just explored San Cristobal a bit and then Marion and I went to get massages. So relaxing and nice. And only 300 pesos!

Oh and that night we ran into some German guys who we met in Oaxaca! It’s funny how small the world is. 🙂

But the next day we were off again bright and early on a tour! Our tour guide was a total douche. He started off the morning by screaming at us. The guy said he’d be there between 6 and 6:30. Normally time runs a bit slow here so we were almost ready but I had to brush my teeth and when I said that he yelled at me cos he arrived earlier than expected. 

The whole time he was being so mean to us because we were foreigners. Like literally, trashing foreigners half the time in the van. He told us he would leave us at Agua Azul if we didn’t arrive to the van on time. He was also mean to the Mexicans, but in a different way. One guy had to throw up because his driving was so bad and he was like “HOLD ON WE CAN’T STOP HERE BLAH BLAH BLAH” 

On a positive note, check out these pictures of Agua Azul!

Image

ImageI

Insanely gorgeous, no?

From there we went to Misol-Ha where we were also threatened by our tour guide to be left.
 Image

After Misol-Ha we had our final adventure in Palenque. Of course the whole time the tour guide was like “If you’re a student or teacher use your ID and you’ll get in for free. Unless you’re foreign. Then there’s no point.” Because we didn’t pay for that part of the trip. Because we’re considered Mexican nationals because we have visas and student IDs from Mexican universities. He kept insisting we were wrong though and that we would have to pay more.

When we showed our IDs and got in for free I seriously thought he was going to strangle us.

But here is Palenque (Mayan ruins in Chiapas)
Image 
Me being a BAMF in the ruins.

Image

And thus concludes my epic Semana Santa! Other than eating dinner and some guy sitting down with us and not leaving us alone even though we flat-out asked him to at least 20 times. By the end I was exhausted and for those of you who don’t know, Palenque is hotter than hell. Literally a burning firey humid hell. 

But I am so amazed to think of how much I saw in such a short period of time. 🙂 

Stayed tuned because I will soon include my two trips to Aguascalientes and my trip to Puerto Vallarta!

Tomorrow is the last day of class. I have 8 pages more of one essay to write (I had two 10 page papers to write, one down, one to go!) and I have 2 final projects.

After that I’ll be traveling around Queretaro, then back to Aguascalientes, and concluding my trip with a brief jaunt to Chihuahua, Sinaloa, and Guadalajara. 🙂

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

