North of Mexico pt deux!!

So I am on my phone waiting to board
my flight to Lima so let’s hope I can do this cos we board in 10 minutes.

Mary Claire and I took El Chepe, which the train that runs through the Copper Canyon from Chihuahua to Los Mochis and vice versa. There’s no good way to describe the canyon; you just have to see it. It’s incredibly breathtaking. The train is a bit pricey but gets cheaper depending on where you pick it up. The food is way overpriced though so stock up on snacks and drinks before!!

We got into Los Mochis a bit before 10 and went straight to our hotel. We could hear loud Banda music all night and woke up bright and early at 4:30 am to go to the bus station. Our bus ended up being 90 minutes late which was super unpleasant.

We also had a stop in Culiacan which is the second most murderous city in Mexico. Scary but interesting.

The really exciting part is Mazatlan. It’s laid back but not too much. It’s also got a good balance of touristy things while still keeping a local vibe. By far my favorite beach in Mexico.

I can’t figure out how to put pictures in here via my phone so let me try and figure this out.

20120605-175438.jpg

20120605-175451.jpg

20120605-175500.jpg

20120605-175508.jpg

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

