“I don’t meet many save-the-world types.”

That was said to me, Jacque, and Angelina in the Lima airport on our way down to Bolivia. And it really stuck with all of us.

To start off, yes I am back in home. Sitting in my comfy bed, but missing Bolivia terrible.

Now back to the quote.

Some guy said that to us as he headed off to travel around South America.

And you know what? I never thought of myself as a save-the-world type. Because to me…I’m just doing what I love to do. What I feel called to do.

All of my life I have believed in God, but never had an obvious God-moment. I envied everyone who had signs all around them and incredible revelations.

Then in Bolivia I realized I was right where God wanted me to be. That I should go to the BLC and help these boys know that healthy relationships DO exist and help them to develop skills to give them success later in life. That I should serve as a translator and liaison between team members and the boys.

Without getting too political, I feel like we all take a lot for granted. And that we don’t know the half of what’s going on in the world around us. I think no matter your political affiliations or beliefs, that everyone should want to help those in need develop the skills to develop and maintain a better quality of life.

Granted, not everyone will want to put in the effort to make their life better. But if these boys were still on the streets, they wouldn’t be learning how to bake bread, how to cut hair, how to fix things, money management, etc…because it wouldn’t be an option.

I’m not being recruited by the Children’s Impact Network to say this, I super double pinky promise. I just WANT to say it.

The Bolivia Life Center does more than provide a roof over the kids’ heads and food for them to eat.

It provides with them with an education and the opportunity to acquire skills and jobs that will help them develop and improve their lives.

And there’s nothing I’d rather be a part of.

Tomorrow I’ll post more about some stories. 🙂

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

