a moment of absolute chaos and insanity

It’s almost 3 am and I can’t sleep for the most ridiculous reason.

Let me attempt to make this brief.

I decided to see how far the Guadalajara airport is from the Guadalajara bus station to know what time I should buy my bus ticket from Guadalajara to Puerto Vallarta for.

Well, Google Maps tells me it’s over an hour away. And I just start panicking. Imagining the ridiculous fees taxi drivers are going to charge me. Searching for new flights to no avail and the ones that do come up are $900 for a ONE WAY trip that only lasts 3 hours.

I start Facebook messaging my friend Ricardo rapid fire Spanish style saying QUE VOY A HACER QUE VOY A HACER QUE VOY A HACER? (What am I going to do x 3) cos I was flipping shit.

Here is a summary of the conversation:

Ricardo: I thought you knew the airport was super duper far away!
Me: HOW WOULD I KNOW THAT?
Ricardo: I don’t know…you travel a lot!
Me: WHAT AM I GOING TO DO?
Ricardo: Ask someone for a ride, people are nice here.
Me: I AM NOT GETTING INTO A CAR WITH RANDOM STRANGERS HOPING AND PRAYING THAT I WILL ARRIVE IN ONE PIECE TO MY DESTINATION.

So Ricardo starts looking for how to get to the bus station from the airport and sending me all of this information and all I can say (in Spanish, mind you) is, “DON’T SEND ME ANYTHING IN SPANISH! I AM IN NO PLACE TO READ OR UNDERSTAND SPANISH RIGHT NOW!  I AM FREAKING OUT!’

Soooo I start texting my friend Lisa who is from Guadalajara. I thought she was in the US but it turns out she is already in Guadalajara *surprise* so she CALLS me FROM Guadalajara like “OMG ARE YOU OKAY?!”  cos I was like “SUPER MEGA PROBLEMA I NEED YOUR HELP”  (I’m a bit of a drama queen sometimes, it’s my downfall o_O) and I’m just freaking out.

And her sister (who currently LIVES in Guadalajara) goes “Kaitlyn nahh no pasa nada just when you get to the airport go to the taxi booth and say ‘I want a taxi to the central camionera’  it’s not that far away and you can get your bus to Puerto Vallarta.”

Ant-iclimatic but true.

Now my blood is pumping and I don’t think I can make it to church in the morning because it’s 3 am and the chances of me being able to fall asleep right now are essentially…mmm…negative.

But yeah.

Absolute panic and sheer traveling terror brought to you by yours truly.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

